Was macht Xell
Xell's Kompetenzen // Xell spielt... // Stationen // Philosophie der Kompositionen


Xell's Kompetenzen
Komposition und Sounddesign für Theater,Tanz und Film
Musikalische Einstudierung und Leitung

Musikerrecherche
, Empfehlung, Beratung+Coaching sowie Probenplanung
Organisation und Leitung von Studioaufnahmen

MusicSupervising
: Produktionsüberwachung, ProduktionsSupervising
Intervenient zwischen Regisseur/ Choreograph/ Orchester/ Ensemble

Xell arbeitete u.a. mit Dimiter Gotscheff, Sandy Lopicic, Lemi Ponifasio, Fabrizio Cassol, Robert Gerloff, Peter Hailer, Gabriela Gillert, Christel Hoffmann, Sascha Hawemann


Xell spielt folgende Instrumente
Oboe, English Horn, Oboe d'amore,
Klarinette, Xaphoone (Bambus Sax)

Gaida (bulgarischer Dudelsack),
Alt+Sopran Blockflöten

Akkordeon, Klavier,
Gesang (Balkanfolklore/ Rock)

eGitarre,
Synthesizer (Programming, Noise, Electronics)


Stationen von Xell
Komposition, musikalische Leitung und Live-Musik an Theaterhäusern wie Hannover, Dortmund, Oldenburg, Berlin...

Dozentenauftrag an der "Hochschule der Künste", Zürich. Workshopthema: "Der Performer als sein eigener Dramaturg"

Komposition und musikalische Leitung: "Pulverfass - Ein Balkanmusical", Centraltheater Leipzig (Regie: Sascha Hawemann)

Bühnenmusiker in der Theaterproduktion "Das Wirtshaus im Spessart", Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar (Regie: Sandy Lopicic)

Bühnenmusiker in der Tanztheaterproduktion "Le Savali", Berliner Festspiele (Regie: Lemi Ponifasio)

Komposition und musikalische Leitung: "Der Mann ohne Vergangenheit", Theaterproduktion Deutsches Theater Berlin (Regie: Dimiter Gotscheff)

Writer/Producer bei SAT.1, später "SevenSenses" Berlin: Entwicklung und Gestaltung von OnAir Werbetrailern für TV-Sendungen und Kinofilme

Mitglied der berliner Art-Gruppe "Q", seitdem regelmässige Ausstellungen mit eigenen fotografischen Arbeiten

Thesis und Praktikum in Theorie sowie Methodik der darstellenden Künste und des Designs bei Dozentin Polina Kristeva, ´Secondary School of Arts and Stage Cadres` (Plovdiv, Bulgarien)

Solooboist der H.M.H.-Kammerphilharmonie Berlin

Bühnenmusiker in der Theaterproduktion "Das Pulverfass", Berliner Festspiele/DT (Regie: Dimiter Gotscheff)

Musikalische Leitung und Darsteller: "ItsPunk", Centraltheater Leipzig (Regie: Sascha Hawemann)

Stipendium für den Internationalen Kammermusikkurs der "Jeunesses Musicales", Aufnahmen für den SWR

Kompositionsauftrag für die Ballettperformance "Zucht" von Robert Maytaf am Balletthaus Halle (Uraufführung am 3.3.98)

Gründung des Duos Dafov/Roth (Oboe und Klavier), seitdem rege Kammerkonzerttätigkeit im In- und Ausland

Studium an der Hochschule für Musik "Franz Liszt" – Weimar in den Fächern Oboe und Englisch Horn bei Prof. Axel Schmidt Abschluss der künstlerischen Diplomprüfung als Diplommusiker mit dem Prädikat "Sehr gut", Aufnahme in die Meisterklasse

Stavenhagenpreisträger der Stadt Greiz im Fach Oboe

Materialisiert im Sommer Neunzehndreiundsiebzig in Plovdiv (Bulgarien)


Xell - Philosophie der Kompositionen
Den Tagtraum, den Xell träumt, ist Musik zu schreiben, die alle Stile vereint, die er mag. Klassiche Musik, Metal, bulgarische Folklore. Ja geht denn das? Kurz - Xells wichtigste kompositorische Intention ist es, einen musikalischen Ausdruck als kulturübergreifende Sprache einzurichten. Und das beeindruckt, weil es funktioniert.

Zunächst handelt es sich bei seinen Stücken um kein gewöhnliches Singersongwriter-Material. Die Konzeption beruht auf der klassischen Idee, eine Gleichwertigkeit aller Instrumente zu etablieren, in der sie sich polyphon bewegen können.
Außerdem steht in den meist instrumental gehaltenen Werken keine zentrale Figur wie etwa ein Solist oder Sänger im Mittelpunkt. Die Stücke selbst sind der Kern und als Ganzheit zu verstehen. Die Musik begleitet nicht, sie ist selbstständig narrativ. Ausdrucksmittel sind in erster Linie die Themengestaltung und deren mehrdimensionale Verwebung in den Arrangements.
In ihrer Projektion sind Xells Kompositionen eine Anlehnung an die so genannte Ernste Musik und wirken wie Filmmusikstücke ohne Film. Den wenigen Songs wurde die Funktion eines Intermezzos, einer Pause von der programmatischen Konzeption der instrumentalen Werke zugewiesen. Trotzdem ist auch bei ihnen die progressive Technik, mit der Xell seine Stücke inszeniert, präsent. Dadurch bekommt man als Hörer den Eindruck, an einem wertigen Gesamtkonzept teilzunehmen.

Der aus Bulgarien stammende und in Deutschland aufgewachsene Xell kommuniziert hauptsächlich über die Atmosphäre seiner Stücke. Der Inhalt seiner Klangerzählungen ist tiefsinnig und nachvollziehbar zugleich. Es ist Musik die man bewusst hört; Musik mit eigener Laune, Musik, die ohne Plattitüden vielfältige Empfindungen freizulegen vermag. Im Vordergrund steht jedoch kein gesellschaftliches oder sozialkritisches Mitteilen; kein musikalisches Aufarbeiten depressiver Zustände, kein lyrisches Lamentieren über tragisch verlaufende Liebesbeziehungen. Die Botschaft der multikulturellen Identität begegnet dem Hörer auf sympathische Weise rein akustisch. So wirkt sie als freier Gedanke weiter nach, ohne zu bedrängen. Dagegen entstehen die wenigen Songtexte eher zufällig oder sind abstrakte, künstlerische Gebilde. Ihr poetischer Aspekt ist spontan und wirkt dadurch unverbraucht unterhaltend.

Wenn man von Stilistik spricht, kann man Xells Musik als ein geschicktes Konstrukt aus Progressivemetal und bulgarisch-balkanischen Folklorenmotiven in klassischer Mehrstimmigkeit gesetzt umschreiben. Diese Mischung hat einen gewagten intellektuellen und musikalisch evolutionären Anspruch, der seine Wirkung auch und ganz besonders vor dem Hintergrund der Entstehung dieser Musik entfaltet, in Zusammenhang mit ihrer tieferen Aussage und den Ideen, die sich in ihr wiederfinden.

Beispielsweise werden allein durch das Zusammenführen von Kammerensemble und Metalelementen bekannte Balkanklischees umgangen. Xell baut sein Bandkonzept nicht stereotyp, sondern geht mit ihm neue Wege, die durch einen Cocktail von westlicher und osteuropäischer Klangtradition führen. Dabei hat die unkonventionelle Instrumentierung, wie etwa Oboe, Klarinette, Violine auf der einen Seite - Powerdrums, Metalgitarren und Soundeffekte auf der anderen, einen wesentlichen Anteil an der Charaktergestaltung: filigrane, teils folkloristische Melodiegebilde wechseln ihre Farben durch die Kollision verzerrter Rhythmen und perkussiver Spieleigenart.
Xells Musik hat keine direkte improvisatorische Eigenart. Sie ist auskomponiert, wirkt aber durch ihre eigensinnige Form frisch und spontan. Durch das raffinierte Arrangement ist sie weder in sich gefangen noch befremdlich.
Die Stücke vermitteln bisweilen eine Art filmisch-theatralisches Szenario, das den Hörer in seinen Bann zieht. Dabei liegt es an ihm, dem Hörer, durch den eigenen Verrücktheitsgrad Kontakt zur Musik herzustellen. Das funktioniert nach einer Weile problemlos über Humor, Sound, metaphysische Beschaffenheit, Kompositionstechnik oder den schlichten Bewegungsdrang.

Gesamtausrichtung und Image von Xells musikalischer Seite haben nichts mit einer importierten, romantisch verklärten Roma-Figur zu tun. Aus dem Dschungel musikalischer Alltäglichkeit bricht er jenseits von Hochzeitmugge und Balkan-DJ-Partyexzessen unerwartet und spätestens dann hervor, wenn man glaubt, alles schon mal gehört zu haben. Xell zeigt eindrucksvoll, dass auch folkloristisch motivierte Musik niemals begrenzbar ist, niemals auf Klischees reduziert werden darf und weiter gehen muss, als bis zum nächsten bulgarischen McDonalds. Unter seinem metallischen Soundvulkan brodelt stets eine mystische Idee. Die Idee, Traditionen miteinander weiterzudenken. Außerdem ist er kein Roma.

Was sagt das alles letztendlich aus? Dass Xells Musik als notwendiges multikulturelles Format ein starkes alternatives Potential offeriert; sich selbstbewusst abhebt und trotz, oder vielleicht gerade wegen der vielschichtigen Struktur ein einmalig unterhaltsames Beispiel für künstlerischen Anspruch und kommerzielle Funktionalität ist.





  .

What Xell. is doing
Mr. Xell.'s Expertise // Mr. Xell. plays... // Curriculum Vitae // Philosophy of Comp.


Mr. Xell.'s Expertise
Composition, sound design and live-music for theatre, dance and film
Direction, coaching and conduction of musical performances

Scoring, arranging, and copying music
Artists: music personnel consulting and recruitment service

Management: planning, coordination and conduction of rehearsals, performances, and studio recordings

Supervision: music production management, production supervision
Intermediation: between theatre director/ choreographer/ company/ musical ensemble

Mr.Xell. works e.g. with Dimiter Gotscheff, Sandy Lopicic, Lemi Ponifasio, Fabrizio Cassol, Robert Gerloff, Peter Hailer, Gabriela Gillert, Brit Bartkowiak, Christel Hoffmann, Sascha Hawemann


Mr. Xell. plays the Following Instruments
Oboe, English Horn, Oboe d'amore,
Xaphoone (Bamboo Saxophone), Clarinet

Gaida (Bulgarian Bagpipe),
Recorder (Soprano/ Alto)

Accordion, Piano

Vocals: Rock/ Bulgarian Folk
Electric Guitar

Synthesizer (Programming, Noise, Electronics)


Curriculum Vitae of Mr. Xell.
Alexander Xell Dafov materialized on earth in the summer of 1973 in Plovdiv (Bulgaria) and has lived in Germany since 1978. Despite his desire to become a veterinarian or zoo director, he received music lessons, initially in recorder, piano and oboe. This led in 1985 to the Stavenhagen Prize of the city of Greiz/Thuringia as the best young musician, and further to the admission to the music high school Schloss Belvedere Weimar for gifted children in 1989.

From 1990 he studied oboe with Prof. Axel Schmidt at the Franz Liszt Academy of Music in Weimar, where he graduated with distinction in 1995 and was admitted to the master class. This was followed by collaborations with the pianist Sebastian Roth, solo concerts and radio recordings for S├╝dwestrundfunk and National Radio Sofia.

Xell.`s interest in music is not only in classical interpretation, but in sound as a language and means of expression. In 1998 he received a composition commission for the ballet performance "Zucht" von Robert Maytas at the Balletthaus Halle.

After moving to Berlin, he worked for several years as a sound designer and producer for SAT.1/ PRO7 before Dimiter Gotscheff engaged him for the production "Das Pulverfass" (Berliner Festspiele). This was followed by several commissions to theatres.

In 2005 he founded his theatrical progressive rock ensemble Xell and his Schizophonic Orkestar, with whom he released an album in 2010. The album was awarded a prize by the Federal Ministry of Culture for its original and multicultural idea.

The multi-instrumentalist Xell. works as a freelance stage composer, theatre musician and musical director at the Deutsches Theater Berlin, the Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar, Centraltheater Leipzig, Staatstheater Oldenburg, Meininger Staatstheater, Theater Dortmund, Schauspielhaus Graz (Austria), HLT Marburg and Schauspielhaus Hannover.

In February 2013 he received a guest lecturer contract at the University of the Arts in Zurich.

He has worked with directors such as Dimiter Gotscheff, Sandy Lopicic, Lemi Ponifasio, Brit Bartkowiak, Robert Gerloff, Peter Hailer, Gabriela Gillert, Christel Hoffmann and Sascha Hawemann.
In between Xell. lies mostly around and sleeps with open eyes.
His theatre productions also took him to Venice, Belgrade, Oslo and Liechtenstein.

In 2018 Xell. received the coveted audience award of the city of Dortmund for his quote: "versatile and valuable" stage music for "Der Kirschgarten" (A.Chekhov) directed by Sascha Hawemann.

Vitae Mr. Xell. download (english)



Xell. - The Compositions
Xell. is daydreaming to write a music that melts all styles he admires. Classical music, metal, Bulgarian folklore does not compose the ordinary singer-songwriter material. His concept adopts the classical idea of establishing an equality of all instruments in which they can move contrapuntally.

Also his mostly instrumental works do not feature a solo artist or singer in the centre. The pieces themselves are the core and to be understood as a wholesome unit. The music is not underlining a story, she is telling it herself. This is expressed mainly by the leading theme and the way it is woven multi-dimensional into the arrangements.

In their projections, Xell.´s compositions are referring to the so-called serious music and seem to be a film score without film. The rare songs have an intermezzo function, a break from the programmatic of the instrumental works. Nevertheless the progressive techniques that Xell. is staging are very present. Therefore the listener receives the impression to attend a significant master plan.

The Bulgarian Xell. who was brought up in Germany is communicating mainly via the atmosphere of his pieces. The content of his sound narrations is meaningful and retractable at the same time. It is a music which is consciously heard, a music with an own vibe, a music that is revealing various feelings without using dull platitudes. However, the center of attention is no social or social critical communicating, no musically regenerating of depressive conditions, no lyric lament over tragical love affairs. The message of multicultural identity meets the listener in a sympathetic way that is purely acoustic. Thus it continues to have a lasting effect as a free thought without boundaries. On the other hand the very few lyrics develop rather coincidental or are abstract artistic buildings. Their poetic aspect is spontaneous and therefore freshly entertaining.

Talking about stylistics, Xell.´s music can be described as a clever construct of progressive metal and Bulgarian-Balkan folkloristic motives written in classical polyphony. This combination has a bold intellectual and musical evolutionary claim, which exerts its effect also, and especially against the background of the genesis of this music, in connection with its deeper message and the ideas that can be found within her.
By simply merging chamber ensemble and metal elements, known Balkan clichés are avoided. Xell. does not build his band concept in a stereotype way, but explores new paths that lead through a cocktail of Western and Eastern European sound tradition. The unconventional instrumentation, using oboe, clarinet, violin on one side - Power Drums, metal guitars and sound effects on the other has a substantial proportion of the character design: delicate, partly folk melody structures change their colors by the collision of distorted rhythms and percussive characteristics.

Xell.´s music has no direct improvisational peculiarity. She is prepared through and through but leaves a fresh and spontaneous impression due to her obstinate form. The ingenious arrangement leads to a music that is neither trapped in herself nor disconcerting.
The pieces leave a feeling of a somehow cinematic and theatrical scenario that captures the audience. It lies within the listener, his own degree of folly, to create a contact to the music. This works after a short while with a good sense of humor, sound, metaphysical nature, compositional technique or the simple urge to move.

The overall direction and the image of Xell.´s musical side is not to be confounded with the imported, romantically transfigured Roma character. Whenever you believe that everything has been heard before he breaks from beyond the jungle of musical commonplace, Easter European wedding soundtracks and Balkan DJ party excess. Xell. shows in an impressive way that even folkloristicly motivated music has no boundaries and cannot be reduced to clichés. It has to move further than the closest bulgarian McDonald´s. Underneath his metallic sound volcano boils unfailingly a mystic idea. The idea to weave traditions together. And besides, he is no Roma.

To which conclusion does all this lead in the end? Xell.´s music is a necessary multicultural concept that offers a strong alternative potential that is contrasting with self-confidence and despite or perhaps because of its complex structure becomes a unique and entertaining example of artistic ambition and commercial functionality.



  .